Bursting Blooms


I love playing with new stitches and this project is an example of just that. I’ve called it Bursting Blooms and even though it obviously needs some work, I think the stitch is ADORABLE! (At least it works in a hat!!)

Bursting Blooms Hat

This one would be cute on a scarf or a baby’s playmat–I’m even thinking baby booties and bracelets! Basically, this stitch is nothing more than fancy fpdc worked around two dc posts. Anyone who knows how to work the crocodile stitch can do these without any problem at all.

The multiple is 12. For this project I used an H hook but you can really use any hook you’d like. The larger the hook, the bigger the flowers and the smaller the hook, the smaller the flowers.

To make the flower: [(DC, CH3) 6 times] around post of next dc, turn work 180 degrees, [(DC, CH 3) 5 times, dc] around post of prev dc.

The way I’ve worked these stitches on the hat  is to work a regular beanie, increasing until I got to 60 stitches. Two rows of dc followed. Then I worked my 1st flower row by chaining 2, dc in the next 4 dc, *flower around post of next and prev dc, dc in same dc (behind flower), dc in next 11 dc; repeat from * around.

When I came to the end of the round, I had 6 flowers. Next came two more dc rounds and then another flower round (for this round I eyeballed the centers from the prior flower round and just worked a flower in-between each of the two from the row above.

Another two dc rounds followed that and then I finished it off with a picot border. Ch 3, 1 hdc in next 2 sts, *picot, 1 hdc in next 3 sts; continue from * around and finish off.

This is definitely one to work with again and again!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Drop a Comment!