Knits: Beginners Lace Scarf


https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com Knits: Beginners Lace Scarf

I have always wanted to learn to knit and have ALWAYS spectacularly failed at it. For some reason, the points on the ends of needles just didn’t make any sense to me (In my mind, sticks need to end in a hook to be effective…)

But, I’ve never really been one to shy away from a challenge either so I bought needles about two years ago and kept trying–always blaming the yarn or the needles for my failures–and never succeeding.

That is, until I bumped into the most charming lady over in YouTube. Her channel, The Casting On Couch literally changed me from JUST a crocheter who knows how to cast onto a knitting needle but that’s about it…to someone who can work magic with any kind of stick and some yarn!

Her hypnotic rhythm…and let’s be honest here, her English accent!! made knitting seem effortless and comfortable! My hope is that she will do more videos because I think she’s brilliant!

If you want to try your crocheter’s hand at knitting, I suggest you grab some needles and yarn and have a look!

Oh!! And a quick tip for those who might be a beginner to lace knitting that was given to me (paying it forward is always a good thing!) is to use a lifeline!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Knits: Beginners Lace Scarf

  1. Deanna Lynn Longrie July 19, 2014 at 5:49 am Reply

    Superb yarn choice to compliment this pattern, and you did a lovely job! The advice you were given has saved me more times that I care to admit! #hangOnForYourLifeline

    Like

  2. Jill DeVol July 18, 2014 at 5:53 pm Reply

    I did a little knitting once but didn’t enjoy it as much as crochet so I didn’t stick with it. I’ve been having a lot of fun with tunisian knit crochet stitches, though! I like the look of this stitch so maybe I’ll try it again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tanya Naser July 18, 2014 at 6:33 pm Reply

      I’m a HUGE fan of tunisian crochet because there is so much you can do with it. One of my favorites is to cross-stitch using a flat panel! The only downside is the curled edge. It’s always there, lol. But if you’re making it into a garment or are going to crochet an edge, it tends to even itself out nicely.

      Like

  3. Maria July 18, 2014 at 4:46 pm Reply

    Big fan of the colour choice. Will you let me know what it is? Thanks so much for letting me see your post. I love to see how knitters use my videos and I am so chuffed by your lovely comments.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tanya Naser July 18, 2014 at 6:28 pm Reply

      I’m so happy to see you here and tickled that you commented ❤ I also promise that you will see a lot more of my trials with knitting here as I journey through the world with needles in hand, lol. I also replied to you over on your facebook page but will post that info again here just in case you don’t head over there 🙂 The yarn I am using is called Vickie Howell Sheep(ish) and is the color Turquoise(ish). I’m not sure if they sell it where you are but you can find it online over at Yarnspirations: http://www.yarnspirations.com/yarns/vickie-howell-sheepish

      Like

  4. laurascrochetedgifts July 18, 2014 at 11:21 am Reply

    For a long time I have wanted to learn to knit. I might have to wait until my children are older. I barely have time to crochet these days. Thanks for the tips!

    Liked by 1 person

Drop a Comment!