Crochet Indian Cross Stitch


https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com/ Crochet Indian Cross Stitch

It’s no secret to any of my friends that my knitting skills are rudimentary at best but I LOVE the look of knit and secretly wish that I was bi-yarny.

So whenever I head on over to YouTube I like to check out complicated knit stitches and marvel at the delicate and intricate fabric that results–pretty much like magic–on the end of two sticks. Seriously…you need a hook people. 😉

The last stitch I checked out–the Indian Cross Stitch demonstrated by New Stitch a Day–left me stunned!

It’s gorgeous, right?

But, if you are anything at all like me,  you kinda need those hooks on the end of your ‘knitting needle’ to get anything done!

That’s where I got to work using my yarn to recreate this gorgeousness in crochet form and before I knew it, the crochet version of the Indian Cross Stitch was born!

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com/ Crochet Indian Cross Stitch

This stitch is NOT for the faint of heart but it is for the adventurous crocheter who would love to stick another crochet tool in their belt! It’s fun to work, teaches you a lot about how you personally work your yarn (if you’re a strangler it will let you know!), and forces you to rethink how you use those hooks that we all take for granted! (Trust me…us crocheters NEED a hook on the end of our sticks!!)

If you’d like to tackle a swatch on your own, you can head on over to any of my online shops and pick up a copy for free! My challenge to you is to work the stitch into something and then come share it with me. I’d love to see what you can come up with!!

Crochet Indian Cross Stitch Swatch in Craftsy

Crochet Indian Cross Stitch in Ravelry

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Crochet Indian Cross Stitch

  1. […] I do what I do because I honestly LOVE it. My mind is always thinking about new ideas—and not always of the yarny variety—to try. My inquisitive nature is to blame for things like DIY glow in the dark yarn, DIY paper mache yarn bowls, and the crochet Indian cross stitch. […]

    Like

  2. Leann July 17, 2014 at 12:29 pm Reply

    I love this pattern! It’s so…different! I already know what I want to make: a cowl with a “flare” at one end. Any ideas on increasing/decreasing with this pattern? I’m TERRIBLE at that, and I can use all the help I can get (once I get the pattern down) 🙂 thanks!

    Like

  3. Brenda / HenBren March 31, 2014 at 1:07 pm Reply

    My brain is about to pop thinking of what to make with this. I love it. Thank you much for sharing.

    Like

  4. Keep Calm and Crochet On UK March 10, 2014 at 4:58 am Reply

    I’ve picked up my free copy of the stitch and when I get a free moment I definitely want to have a play! Love it!

    Like

  5. danielle March 6, 2014 at 7:01 pm Reply

    Well you be doing a video tutorial, or an in depth photo tutorial? I am having trounle worth the sc round.

    Like

    • Marissa March 6, 2014 at 7:35 pm Reply

      I don’t have plans on a video tutorial just yet for this one.

      Like

  6. […] Here’s a link to Marissa’s post introducing ‘Crochet Indian Cross Stitch‘ […]

    Like

  7. dancinggirl75 March 4, 2014 at 10:22 pm Reply

    I love the Indian Cross Stitch. I have been crocheting for more than 60 years, and I’m always open to new adventures in crocheting. I do crochet every day, making baby blankets for charities. I’d like to know if this would be a nice pattern for a blanket, and also, what’s the multiple? I can’t wait to try this. It’s gorgeous. I never learned to knit, and when I saw this, how you converted it to crochet, I yelled happily.
    Thank you for posting. I will await your reply to get started.

    Like

    • Marissa March 5, 2014 at 6:45 pm Reply

      I’m thrilled that you love the stitch and I think it would make a darling blanket ❤ You can find the multiple along with all of the other information you need to be successful in the pattern. I hope you will share a photo with me when you are all finished!

      Like

  8. mariahswind March 4, 2014 at 6:00 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Ora & Ida Crochet Boutique and commented:

    Going to have to give this new crochet stitch a go! Tanya over at Hodge Podge Crochet has taken the indian Cross Stitch Knitting stitch and figured out how to make something very similar with a hook!

    Like

Drop a Comment!

