Doctor Who and the TARDIS


Most people who know me also know that I am a fan of Doctor Who. I wouldn’t call myself a Doctor encyclopedia (I know you guys are out there!!) but I’ve always had a soft spot for nerdy science stuff. Throw in a British accent and a blue box–it’s bigger on the inside–and I’ll eat it right up!

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com TARDIS by mad42sam

 

Lately I’ve been dabbling in the world of sewing and fabric and I really wanted to do something Doctor Who inspired for my first project but every fabric I found was super–crazy–expensive. (I have no idea how you guys out there who sew for a living stay in business!!)

Since I have a sewing machine and have used it a handful of times–Not kidding; I am the world’s worst sewer. (Sewer…is that a thing?? That has to be the worst word on the planet to call someone who sews for a living…)–I wasn’t willing to part with my coins for something that I would likely end up huddled over in a pile of tears when finished….

So, bring in plan B!! Peter Davison–The Fifth Doctor–once said, “There’s always something to look at if you open your eyes.” Good advice! And I always take the Doctor’s advice.

Scavenging around my house I found the answer literally hanging in front of me. Enter, One Pair of Old Curtains. Cost: Zero! I took them off the window (I didn’t really need them because they weren’t exactly functional curtains anyway), washed and ironed them and viola!

But…there was still a problem of how to incorporate a Doctor Who theme on a pair of old curtains. Sure, they were blue…but…BLUE!! See where I’m going with this?!?! 

A quick trip through Pinterest and I found the PERFECT solution!

Bubbles Before Bath Time!

Turns out she has a geeky hubby and wanted to spruce up her son’s wardrobe (and blogged about it!) Thanks so much for the tips and shortcuts!!

With the help of her amazing blog (seriously, this is simple stuff here), a few supplies, PATIENCE, and some black acrylic paint, I was able to transform my plain and boring curtain fabric into…well, LOOK!! ❤ ❤

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com Doctor Who and the TARDIS

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com Doctor Who and the TARDIS

There are a few crucial things you need in order to make this a success and those are:

1. A SHARP x-acto knife. Don’t waste your time with anything else because you’ll just get frustrated and cry–trust me on this one. 😉

2. FREEZER PAPER. This won’t work with wax paper or parchment paper or any other kind of paper.

3. Black acrylic paint. Any brand will do. Check the bottle if using fabric paint because some of them need to be heat set to be permanent.

4. A paint brush. If you’re lucky enough to have a silk screen, you can skip this part. Since I don’t deal in fabric–I’m a crocheter!!–I don’t have one. Some blogs recommend those throw-away foam things. Forget those and get a real paint brush. When painting, DO NOT use brush strokes. Instead, pounce the brush up and down and layer on your paint thinly. (You’ll thank me later!!)

5. PATIENCE. Don’t start this project thinking it’ll be done in an hour. You’ll need to concentrate on the cutting and then take your time layering up the paint so that it doesn’t ooze under the paper and make a mess on you.

 

Step One

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com Doctor Who and the TARDIS

Print out the TARDIS template from Bubbles Before Bath Time and trace onto the paper side of your freezer paper. Take your time cutting it out!!

Step Two

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com Doctor Who and the TARDIS

Iron the paper–shiny side down–onto your fabric. Make sure you use a hot enough iron (no steam) to fuse the paper to the fabric so you won’t get any paint leaking under it.

 

Step Three

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com Doctor Who and the TARDIS

With your paint brush, layer on the black paint by pouncing the brush over the iron-on. Several thin layers will need to be applied so take your time!

 

Step Four

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com Doctor Who and the TARDIS

After letting the paint dry, peel off the freezer paper to reveal your design!

I’ve had a ball with this so far and I’m planning on turning this TARDIS panel into a fun handbag with the help of Debbie Shore. (Who has a lovely British accent, by the way!) More to come in a later blog with whether or not I was successful! Wish me luck, 😉

Tagged: , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Doctor Who and the TARDIS

  1. […] had a ball painting the TARDIS on my DIY Handbag, but in order to get acrylic paint to behave better (I admit, I’ve never thought about […]

    Like

  2. Handbag Roundup! | HodgePodge Crochet June 23, 2014 at 5:58 pm Reply

    […] a roll with them lately!) I decided to dedicate some space to amazing crochet alternatives to the sewn version I recently […]

    Like

  3. […] you guys want to know how I made this bag, make sure to check out THIS BLOG POST which has the entire process and the amazing youtube tutorial I […]

    Like

  4. Old World ~ New Girl June 9, 2014 at 1:49 pm Reply

    Oh yes, I love me som Doctor Who, too! Good luck, I’m sure you’ll create the cutest Tardis handbag! =)

    Like

  5. Deanna Lynn Longrie June 9, 2014 at 8:58 am Reply

    Good Luck! I also, can’t wait to see it!!

    Like

  6. katythenightowl June 8, 2014 at 12:49 pm Reply

    What a great idea – and just the thing for us Doctor Who fans!
    I hope you’ll show us the end result once you’ve made your bag? 🙂

    Like

    • Tanya Naser June 8, 2014 at 2:58 pm Reply

      ❤ Of course I will!! I hope it does the TARDIS justice or I will be completely devastated!! I'm terrified to touch it now, lol.

      Like

      • katythenightowl June 8, 2014 at 4:03 pm

        I think you’ll probably surprise yourself then 🙂

        Like

  7. stitches'n'scraps June 7, 2014 at 10:05 pm Reply

    Fabulous!

    Like

  8. Sanderella's Crochet June 7, 2014 at 8:33 pm Reply

    Cute post!!

    Like

  9. mariahswind June 7, 2014 at 5:21 pm Reply

    Walmart carries some very cheap flat sheets that are great for fabric. Also check thrift stores for sheets, curtains etc to be used as fabric. Reminds me of two movies can anyone guess which movies I am thinking of?

    Like

  10. Cassidy Frazee June 7, 2014 at 5:04 pm Reply

    Can’t wait to see the finished result!

    Like

Drop a Comment!

