Crocheter’s Spotlight: From Home


HodgePodge is getting ready to be taken over by a very special guest!! I’m thrilled to introduce my very good friend, Michelle–and her ADORABLE pompoms!!

Hello! I am Michelle, the mastermind behind From Home, which has become my alter ego and my home away from home.  I am the SAHM of one adorable little toddler I have affectionately nicknamed “Grumpers” and have a husband of four years, Kevin.

I am ashamed to admit, I am a new crafter. All of my life, crafting took a backseat to things like food, sports, and entertainment. My dream has always been to be either a schoolteacher of younger children, or to be a SAHM, and I am so lucky that it has come to fruition. With the lifestyle I now lead, a new opportunity to expand my interests was born and from that passion for learning, From Home was created.

From Home, as a business, is yarn. From Home, as a lifestyle, expands deeper into creating, playing, exploring and teaching. I started the blog to share my adventures in food, parenting and of course, yarn because they are what I love most at this point in my life. (I guess my husband fits in there too)

Today, my focus is going to be both yarn and parenting. I have turned a piece of string into a teaching tool, a game for play, and a sensory object for my not quite three year old. I present to you…

The Pompom!

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com/ From Home

I love an item that can be teachable and fun at the same time!

These squishy, soft little spheres have been a huge focus in our household lately. They have made a fantastic toy for throwing, catching, rolling and juggling (which I might add, is really fun if you aren’t really good at it). We also love them for the bright, beautiful colours, which is a big bonus when teaching a toddler. The other positive is counting! My two year can count to twelve and I give a lot of the credit to her play time with these amazing little balls of yarn. I also love the safety factor. They are not likely to hurt her (or us) which is a HUGE plus!

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com/ From Home

I’ve come to learn that the uses for pompoms expand much further than adding flair to crocheted or knit pieces and I have a favourite quick and easy method of making them I have shared over on my blog, From Home Crochet.

From my home to yours,

Michelle

Find Michelle on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FromHomeCrochet

If you’d like to find out more about those adorable pompoms (and how she gets them so perfect every single time!!) head on over to her blog right here on wordpress: http://fromhomecrochet.wordpress.com/

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com/ From Home

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Crocheter’s Spotlight: From Home

  1. Patti Lekas January 30, 2014 at 9:19 pm Reply

    love the pom poms

    Like

Drop a Comment!

