Shrinky Dinks: The Poor Man’s Version


Who remembers playing with Shrinky Dinks when they were little?? Last night, while lost in Pinterest, I ran across a Shrinky Dinky Test Lab blogged by Dabbled and I was so excited about trying it that it’s pretty much the first thing I did today after grabbing my coffee!!

I had to hunt through my Tupperware cabinet (yes, I have an ENTIRE cabinet dedicated to nothing but Tupperware….) but eventually I found an old plastic take away container that I’d saved some time last year to do something with. Knowing me, I probably wanted to plant flowers in it come springtime. I was thrilled because I’d seriously considering taking a trip up to our local supermarket to hunt for the right container to make this craft with!

Side Note: In case you are curious about the exact kind of container, it HAS to be marked #6. Look for the triangle stamped on the packaging and if it has the number 6 in the center it will work for this craft. It should also be the largest container you can get your hands on.

Bigger is better when it comes to shrinky dinks. 

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com/ Shrinky Dinks: The Poor Man's Version

Once I cut out the large flat part on my container (it doesn’t matter if the container has bumps on it because they will flatten out as it shrinks), I drew a cute little zebra and colored it in with a black sharpie. Then I decided to do something with the side of the packaging and cut out a strip and colored a pattern on it. I punched some holes in both and called them finished. After that, all that was left was to melt them in my toaster oven (the same one I use when I make my polymer clay charms!)

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com/ Shrinky Dinks: The Poor Man's Version

The shrinking magic happened pretty much immediately! Unfortunately, the strip of plastic melted weird–it sort of curled onto its side and never righted itself–so I had to toss it BUT the zebra came out tiny and adorable!!

https://hodgepodgecrochet.wordpress.com/ Shrinky Dinks: The Poor Man's Version

I think he’s getting a coat of triple thick and then going directly onto my key ring. Or maybe I’ll turn him into a really cool stitch marker!

If you’re interested in trying it out for yourself, head on over to Dabbled and read up on the process! It’s cheap, simple to do, and a lot of fun! And if you make one, I’d LOVE to see it!! Come find me on facebook to post your creations!

 

Tagged: , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Shrinky Dinks: The Poor Man’s Version

  1. […] The head honcho of a crochet group I’m in has started making these adorable homemade Shrinky Dinks and the others are going gaga over them. I don’t blame them, because they are absolutely adorable. I’d love to have my logo on a key chain like that. Any way, a coupe of the gals thought it would be cool to get a likeness on them and I was mentioned. Thank you for the mention. I could use some shameless plugs and any kind of work, really. As I’m still learning how to caricature I started back to practicing. This is today’s set of caricatures so far. Do you recognize them? Gosh, I hope so. My caricatures are more time consuming than they should be, but I think I’m getting the likeness down pretty well.  […]

    Like

  2. Kim November 19, 2013 at 10:59 pm Reply

    Ahh stitch markers! Of course! I have a stash of shrinkie dinks somewhere and didn’t know what to do with them and now i do! Thanks 🙂 ps ur zebra is cute! 🙂

    Like

    • Marissa November 19, 2013 at 11:50 pm Reply

      ❤ I wanna see if you turn them into stitch markers!!

      Like

Drop a Comment!

