Beanie Hats: A Walkthrough


Beanie hats. We all love them because they are so adorable and they work up quick–and quick is good!

When I work a regular beanie I use a general hat size gauge:

0-6 months: Head Size (13-15in): Hat Size (12-14in): Hat Height (4.5-5in)

6-12 months: Head Size (16-19in): Hat Size (14-18in): Hat Height (5.5in)

1-3 Years: Head Size (18-21in): Hat Size (17-20in): Hat Height (6.5in)

4+ Years: Head Size (20-22in): Hat Size (19-21in): Hat Height (7.5in)

I tend to size them down according to age–so if you are wanting a hat for a 4 year old, I’d crochet it closer to 19 inches around than 21 because of the stretch in the yarn. I cringe when I make a hat that fits perfectly because I know if it isn’t a little bit snug on the first wear–by the 7th or 8th wear it’s going to be too large.

So what does that translate to in terms of increases? I’ll tell you!

Say you are crocheting a hat for an infant and you want to shoot for that infant range. Anything below 15 inches would be (in my book) considered ‘small’.

To get that size, you would have a total of three increase rounds.

Using an H (5.00mm) hook and any color medium worsted weight yarn:

Ch 5, Join with a sl st in beginning ch.

Row 1: Ch 2, work 9 dc in center of ring, sl st in top of ch 2 (10)

Row 2: Ch 2 (counts as one dc), 1 dc in same space as join, work 2 dc in each stitch around, sl st in top of ch 2 (20)

Row 3: Ch 2, 1 dc in same space as join, *work 1 dc in next stitch, work 2 dc in next stitch, continue from * around, join with sl st in top of ch 2. (30)

Row 4: Ch 2, 1 dc in same space as join, *work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 2 dc in next stitch, continue from * around, join with sl st in top of ch 2. (40)

Row 5: Ch 2, 1 dc in same space as join, *work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 2 dc in next stitch, continue from * around, join with sl st in top of ch 2. (50)

Beanie Hat: Size–Small

So, right there I have my three increase rounds (Rows 3 – 5) and for the next round I’d simply ch 2 and work one dc in each stitch around to get to the length I need (which would be around 5 inches.)

If you want a size ‘medium’ hat, which I would consider anything up to 18 inches, you would have to add in one extra increase round. So my next round would look like this:

Row 6: Ch 2, 1 dc in same space as join, *work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 2 dc in next stitch, continue from * around, join with sl st in top of ch 2. (60)

Then I would ch 2 and work one dc in each stitch around to get my length.

Beanie Hat: Size–Medium

A size ‘large’ I consider to be anything 19 inches and up. That is worked by adding just one more increase round. So to make a large you would add in this:

Row 7: Ch 2, 1 dc in same space as join, *work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 1 dc in next stitch, work 2 dc in next stitch, continue from * around, join with sl st in top of ch 2. (70)

After that round, you ch 2 and work one dc in each stitch around to get your length.

Beanie Hat: Size–Large

I suggest practicing a bit with the hook and your yarn. Once you get the general feel for the increases, you’ll be able to eyeball hat size without too much difficulty at all no matter what type of stitch you are working or what size hook you are using!

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Beanie Hats: A Walkthrough

  1. Brenda November 24, 2013 at 6:30 pm Reply

    I meant to add that if anyone from the UK is reading this and is using aran weight yarn which is the nearest equivalent to worsted, use a 4.5mm hook. It will give better results as regards size. Our Aran is a little thicker than worsted methinks 😉

    Like

  2. Brenda November 24, 2013 at 6:18 pm Reply

    Thank you so much for this. It has been incredibly helpful x

    Like

  3. Kim Brogren August 31, 2013 at 7:29 am Reply

    what about the ear flaps?

    Like

    • Marissa August 31, 2013 at 3:31 pm Reply

      This tutorial is about the beanie hats. You could add on earflaps to a beanie without too much trouble at all! That’s why they are so much fun to make–because they are so versatile.

      Like

  4. Teresa February 6, 2013 at 2:06 pm Reply

    Thanks for this 🙂 I will be trying these tips. I have been having a problem with some beanies just being too big in my kid sizes.

    Like

  5. Pat and Pete February 4, 2013 at 2:22 pm Reply

    This pattern for a beanie hat does not say what yarn is used for a 5mm hook??

    Like

    • Marissa February 4, 2013 at 3:22 pm Reply

      Thanks for letting me know!! I’ll edit it 🙂 I used medium worsted weight yarn with a size H (5.00mm) hook.

      Like

      • Pat and Pete February 4, 2013 at 5:57 pm

        Thank you for that much appreciated.

        Like

  6. Mens Beanie Hat | Best Dressed Man March 27, 2012 at 4:00 am Reply

    […] Beanie Hats: A Walkthrough […]

    Like

  7. SilentKat February 16, 2012 at 2:46 pm Reply

    I just got a great idea for a beanie hat on Valentines Day but I have no idea how to crochet a beanie. This walkthrough will be indispensable!! And I will definitely credit you for your wonderful blog!!

    Like

  8. tilocheyenne January 24, 2012 at 4:22 pm Reply

    LOVE this! I just made a hat like that for my boyfriend! Please follow my blog, and I will follow yours! I am looking for people to speak to and I have so much information to share with everyone about baking, crochet and knitting. Much love, and please stay posted for tutorials and other fun things 🙂 Also, just quirks about my life! Please follow!

    Like

Drop a Comment!

